Beaufort County Community College Faculty Senate

May 5, 2009

Members Present

Emily Albera	Art Keehnle	Ben Morris
Jay Anders	Jackie Keen	Kimberly Mullis
Debra Baker	Cynthia King	Mary Jane Nase
Laura Bliley	Becky Leach	Peggy Pilson
Lisa Boyd	Jim Matson	Ken Robol
Dixon Boyles	Tim Mattimoe	Bill Smith
Teresa Crozier	Ana McClanahan	Jay Sullivan
Mike Davis	Lori McNiel	Cindy Winstead
Dell Enecks	Judith Meyer	Kay Woolard
Caroline Hardee	Lynne Modlin	

Call to Order

Emily Albera, president, called the meeting to order at 12:02 p.m.

Minutes

Ben Morris motioned to accept the February 17, 2009, minutes. Tim Mattimoe seconded the motion which passed by all in favor.

Treasurer's Report

Teresa Crozier, treasurer, reported that the balance is \$40.97 after paying for the Faculty Senate luncheon caterer and depositing dues.

Old Business

1. Report from Committees

Administrative Council Update:

- There is a "scheduled events" calendar in the drop down box on the BCCC website and faculty are encouraged to post events online. Tricia Woolard needs to be provided with the date, event, location, and contact person.
- Betty Gray is the contact person for questions on the alumni association being developed.
- Camera locations were provided via email.
- SACS is concerned about having student representatives serve on the appeals committee.
- CPT testing hours will now be flexible to accommodate the needs of our students.
- Energy sensors are being considered to have lights turn off automatically when rooms are not in use.

Faculty Affairs Committee:

Judith Meyer reported that there are no new developments in Faculty Affairs. Emily Albera commented that the Faculty Social was well done and enjoyed by all in attendance.

Instructional Affairs Committee:

Jay Anders reported that the Instructional Affairs committee has discussed faculty having more input in scheduling make-up days. It was decided that faculty will discuss the issue over the summer via email to determine our recommendation to Administrative Council.

Student Affairs:

Tim Mattimoe reported that there are no new developments in Student Affairs.

2. Rhunell Boyd's Datatel Information:

The booklet provided at the professional development session was helpful. It was stated that this booklet needs to be available to all faculty. Everyone should have received the online version by now.

New Business

Farewell to Jane McCotter: Emily Albera expressed appreciation on behalf of the Faculty Senate for Jane's dedication to BCCC. Jane responded that this has been a great place to work. A flower was given to Jane from the Faculty Senate and a cake provided at the meeting for everyone to enjoy.

Thank You to Previous Officers: Emily Albera presented each previous officer with a flower in appreciation for a job well done.

<u>Election of New Officers</u>: Jackie Keen motioned that we accept the following slate of officers for 2009-2010:

Laura Bliley—President Kim Mullis—Vice President Jay Anders—Treasurer Jeanne Martin—Secretary

The motion was seconded by Debra Baker and approved by all in favor.

Ken Robol--Gamma Beta Phi and YouTube:

Gamma Beta Phi needs a co-sponsor to assist Ken.

Ken Robol is waiting for approval from the marketing committee to develop a YouTube site where videos of faculty can be posted.

<u>NCCCFA</u>: Ana McClanahan, our NCCCFA representative, reminded us to join this legislatively active organization. Annual dues are \$30.

The following current issues underline the need for membership in such an organization:

- Art Keehnle stated that longevity pay may not be offered in the future.
- Kimberly Mullis expressed concern over the recent 0.5% pay cut and what that could imply for the future. She pointed out that NCCCFA can lobby to protect our salary and benefits. Faculty members expressed individual comments and/or concerns about the issue. It was concluded that we need to contact our legislators to effectively express our views. Dell Enecks mentioned that the Systems Office has an organization, SEANC, which can also be useful to faculty.

Adjournment

Jane McCotter motioned the meeting be adjourned at 12:35 pm. Tim Mattimoe seconded the motion.

Respectfully Submitted,

Kimberly Mullis Secretary